banner01 banner02 banner03 banner04
banner01
banner02
banner03
banner04
Home > JSS Experience > Academic Programmes > Sciences

Sciences


HOD Sciences Mr Eric Tan eric_tan_ching_kuan@moe.edu.sg
HOD Character & Citizenship Education Mr Stanley Tan tan_chin_kwan@moe.edu.sg
Year HeadMs Lim Yan Mui lim_yan_mui@moe.edu.sg
HOD ICTMr Gabriel Cheong  cheong_kah_kay_gabriel@moe.edu.sg
SH Science Mr Traven Loh loh_wei_chuen@moe.edu.sg
SH ResearchMs Andrea Tok tok_chia_yee@moe.edu.sg
Senior Teacher – NT Curriculum & Pastoral Care Mr Lim Kok Meng lim_kok_meng_a@moe.edu.sg
Senior Teacher – Chemistry Ms Julianah Johar julianah_johar@moe.edu.sg
Science Teachers Mr Syed Imran Jamaludin syed_imran_jamaludin@moe.edu.sg
Mr Ng Teck Koon ng_teck_koon@moe.edu.sg
Ms Rachel Lim lim_poh_yen@moe.edu.sg
Ms Clarice Teoh teoh_mooi_hoon@moe.edu.sg
Mr Riduwan Ahmad muhammed_riduwan_ahmad@moe.edu.sg
Mr Eugene Wong wong_jia_wei@moe.edu.sg
Mr Koo Chee Kiong koo_chee_kiong@moe.edu.sg
Ms Simranjit Kaur simranjit_kaur_ranjit_singh@moe.edu.sg
Ms Valerie Wong wong_hui_ping_valerie@moe.edu.sg
Mr Kenny Hong Anliang hong_anliang@moe.edu.sg
Ms Melissa Lim Min Li
lim_min_li_melissa@moe.edu.sg
Mr Daniel Lee lee_kun_da_daniel@moe.edu.sg
 Mr Yap Chin Hua yap_chin_hua@moe.edu.sg
Ms Julie Chua
julie_chua@moe.edu.sg
Ms Nurul Nadia
nurul_nadia_abdul_kalam@moe.edu.sg


science-header

Learning Approach

The JSS Science teacher places inquiry at the heart of learning. It is the central approach for teaching science in our classrooms. The curriculum includes both learning about the methods of scientific inquiry and the knowledge derived from those processes. The learning goals that teachers strive to attain as a result of lesson experiences are as follows:

  • cultivating interest in learning science
  • enhancing mastery of subject matter
  • developing scientific reasoning
  • sharpening practical skills
  • understanding the complexity and ambiguity of experimental work
  • cultivating the ability to question critically for effective problem solving
  • developing teamwork abilities

Lower Secondary Science: Learning Through Problems

pbl cycle To cope with changes in the various aspects of life, teachers need to prepare their students with a different set of intelligences to function effectively in the new millennium. The Science teachers have developed a unique Problem-based Learning (PBL) curriculum for all lower secondary students to acquire the vital skill-set in their foundational years. In Science, the ‘problem’ is the start of our learning. It is not easy for students to shift their learning mindsets from one of spoon-feeding to one of inquiry and self-directedness. Hence, the JSS Science teachers have designed a First-two-week programme for all Secondary One students to prepare them for the new way of learning. The programme serves the following objectives:

  • explain what PBL is and communicate the goals, outcomes & expectations of learning through problems;
  • prepare students for the novelty & the frustrations they may face when working in teams and solving problems;
  • teach students useful strategies on how to be an effective team player, how to manage their teams, regulate their own behaviour and be accountable for their performances;
  • help students cultivate a questioning attitude so as to retain the child-like curiosity that is a fundamental trait which allows students to push their limits to seek new knowledge;
  • provide opportunities to help students appreciate the importance of using their knowledge to give back to the larger community in hope to nurture a humanitarian approach to life rather than one of self-centeredness.

Key Programmes

Programme Time frame Levels
Science Problem-based Curriculum SemestersI & II Lower Secondary
Science @ Jurong Lake Park (inter-disciplinary community field-based studies programme) Semester II Secondary One
JSS Annual Science WeekInter-class Science QuizScience TrailFormula J RaceWhat’s My Element – Poster design competition Cool Science Buskers Term I Week 5 All levelsSecondary OneSecondary TwoSecondary Three Secondary Four & Five
Cluster Science Enrichment Day Term I (Term break) Lower Secondary
Learning Journey to Jurong Island Term I Secondary Four & Five

science5