banner01 banner02 banner03 banner04
banner01
banner02
banner03
banner04
Home > JSS Experience > Academic Programmes > Applied Studies

Applied Studies

HOD Applied Studies

Mrs Juliana Ng
goh_wee_peng@moe.edu.sg

SH Applied Studies

Mr Lam Chee Leong

lam_chee_leong@moe.edu.sg

Computer Application Teachers

Mr Chen Yu Gin

chen_yu_gin@moe.edu.sg

Lam Chee Leong

lam_chee_leong@moe.edu.sg

Design & Technology Teachers

   

Mr Alex Chew Khee Lim

chew_khee_lim@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Hamidah Hamim

hamidah_haji_hamim@moe.edu.sg

Mr Ng Choon Hui Vincent

ng_choon_hui@moe.edu.sg

Mr Lim Kwee Hock (Flexi Adjunct)

lim_kwee_hock@moe.edu.sg

Element of Business Skills Teachers

 

Mr Chen Yu Gin

chen_yu_gin@moe.edu.sg
 Mr neo Guo Wei Tony

neo_guo_wei_tony@moe.edu.sg

Nutrition & Food Science Teachers

   

Ms Norliyana Bte Matin

norliyana_matin@moe.edu.sg
Ms Julie Chuajulie_chua@moe.edu.sg
Ms Shuryani Abdul Wahabshuryani_abdul_wahab@moe.edu.sg
 Music Teachers  Ms Cindy Wongcindy_wong_oi_oi@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Kalaivanni Somasundram
kalaivanni_somasundram@moe.edu.sg
 Art Teachers  Ms Angela Ongong_hui_chen@moe.edu.sg
Ms Mardiana Roslanmardiana_roslan@moe.edu.sg

Workshop Instructors

Mdm Teh Ah Moi

teh_ah_moi@moe.edu.sg

Mr Zulkifle Mohd Yassin

zulkifie_mohd_yassin@moe.edu.sg


Learning Approach

The curricula are designed to nurture our students with 21st century competencies.  All the subjects in the department are coursework-based and students are required to be critical and inventive in their thinking to produce innovative and realistic solutions for their coursework tasks.  The lessons are designed to engage our students through experiential learning to construct their knowledge.

There are 6 subjects in Applied Studies Department, namely:

  • Art
  • Computer Applications
  • Design and Technology
  • Element of Business Skills
  • Food and Consumer Education / Food and Nutrition / Food Studies
  • Music

Special Programmes

Lower Secondary
  • Sec 1 Art enrichment programme at Singapore ArtScience Museum.
  • Sec 2 DT Design enrichment programme.
  • Sec 2 Art enrichment programme at National Gallery Singapore.
Upper Secondary
  • Sec 3, 4 and 5 Culinary Skills enrichment programme.
  • Sec 3, 4 and 5 Design enrichment programme 'Artefact for the Future'
  • Sec 3 and 4 Art enrichment at ArtScience Museum and National Gallery Singapore.
School wide STEAM week programme