banner01 banner02 banner03 banner04
banner01
banner02
banner03
banner04
Home > JSS Experience > Academic Programmes > English Language

English Language

HOD English

Mrs Farhain Aidil

farhain_ahmad_bustami@moe.edu.sg

English Language and English Literature Teachers

Mr Bakhtiar Borhan Said

bakhtiar_borhan_said@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kesavan Veerappen

kesavan_veerappen@moe.edu.sg

Mr Lam Chee Leong

lam_chee_leong@moe.edu.sg

Mr Mahathir Aziz

mahathir_aziz@moe.edu.sg

Ms Phua Shih Wen

phua_shih_wen@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Norlinda Omar

norlinda_omar@moe.edu.sg

Ms Vijayaletchumi Karupaiya

vijayaletchumi_karupaiya@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Wang Cuifeng

wang_cuifeng@moe.edu.sg

Ms Hannah Wen

wen_cuiyan_hannah@moe.edu.sg

Mr Yang Zhenwen Alfie

alfie_yang@moe.edu.sg

Ms Zhang Minting Michelle

zhang_minting_michelle@moe.edu.sg

Ms Mardiana Roslan

mardiana_roslan@moe.edu.sg

Ms Goh Eng Jue

 goh_eng_jue@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Pasupathy

 sreenivasan_jayandi@moe.edu.sg

Mr Mark Lee

 yue_hern_mark_lee@moe.edu.sg

Ms Sutha Rajasekaran

sutha_rajasekaran@moe.edu.sg

Ms Michelle Tan

tan_en_ci_michelle@moe.edu.sg

Mr Darius Sim

sim_rui_xiang_darius@moe.edu.sg

Mr Brandon Chai

chai_zhong_xun_brandon@moe.edu.sg

Key Focus

The EL Department is committed to the philosophy that students of JSS will be imbued with language confidence and developed in communicative competence that are required not only for academic excellence, but also beyond the scope of the classroom and school. Through the use of creative and engaging means in language teaching, we aim to help our students develop the 21st century skills, especially communication and critical thinking skills. Authentic modes like photojournalism, debates, video projects and creative drama techniques, will help to not only develop our students’ creativity and innovation, but also their language and communicative skills. 

Our Learning Approach

Our English Language Department uses the communicative approach to language learning, which encourages students to learn the language through its actual use to communicate real meaning during an interaction. Guided by this principle, our EL lessons serve as a platform for learner-centred, authentic learning to take place. It is through this interactive learning that communicative competence is developed, resulting in more confident EL speakers and learners. 

Focus

Sec 1

The Thespian

Sec 2

The Debater

Sec 3, 4, 5

The Orator

Learning Goals

Students will be able to:

  • Converse with general clarity using pronunciation/ stress/ intonation patterns which allow for overall intelligibility.         
  • Recognise their own  verbal mistakes and correct them.
  • Imagine innovative, artistic responses to circumstances and ideas—and use different techniques to solve problems. They will show the confidence to take intellectual and creative risks, accepting failure as part of the creative process.

Students will be able to:

  • Articulate, in conversation and oral presentations,    clearly organized ideas and supporting evidence using vocabulary appropriate to the target audience.
  • Critically think and reflect to enable them to interpret and evaluate information from multiple perspectives—and to analyse, judge, define, question, organise, and prioritise information.

Students will be able to:

  • Give a standard oral presentation confidently which informs and/or persuades the audience.
  • Integrate material from outside sources logically and gracefully into an oral presentation
  • Collaborate and communicate to foster positive interdependence and individual accountability. Both are rooted in the ability to listen actively and express oneself clearly, with intention in spoken, written, non-verbal, visual, and performative domains. 

Our Department’s Special Programmes:

  • Secondary 1 Drama Enrichment Programme
  • Secondary 2 Debate Enrichment Programme
  • Secondary 3 Public Speaking Programme
  • Speak Good English Movement