banner01 banner02 banner03 banner04
banner01
banner02
banner03
banner04
Home > JSS Experience > Academic Programmes > Humanities

Humanities

 

HOD Humanities    

Mr Timothy Boay

timothy_boay@moe.edu.sg

 SH Humanities
 Ms Anna Cai
 cai_shihui_anna@moe.edu.sg

Humanities Teachers

Ms Vijayaletchumi

vijayaletchumi_karupaiya@moe.edu.sg

Mr Faidzil Farkhan

muhammad_faidzil_farkhan@moe.edu.sg            

Ms Michelle Zhang

zhang_minting_michelle@moe.edu.sg

Ms Tay Li Choon

tay_li_choon@moe.edu.sg

Mr Mark Lee Yue Hern

yue_hern_mark_lee@moe.edu.sg

Mr Don Marcus

kannangara_don_marcus@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kesavan

kesavan_veerappen@moe.edu.sg

Mr Alfie Yang

alfie_yang@moe.edu.sg

Mr Mahathir Aziz

mahathir_aziz@moe.edu.sg

Ms Lee Hui Cheng

lee_hui_cheng@moe.edu.sg

Ms Goh Eng Jue

goh_eng_jue@moe.edu.sg

Mr Lee Kun Da Daniel

lee_kun_da_daniel@moe.edu.sg

 Ms Catherine Teh teh_me_me_catherine@moe.edu.sg

Mr Tony Neo

neo_guo_wei@moe.edu.sg

Mr Joel Ng

ng_zhi_kai@moe.edu.sg

 

Learning Approach

Acknowledging the complexities of current Geo-political issues and societal trends, the Humanities Department is committed to engage students in an environment where the spirit of Inquiry is promoted in an authentic environment. Within the classroom, engaged learning is achieved through lively discussion of current issues that have direct relevance to students’ lives. Beyond the classroom, field inquiry and place-based education continues to be a key approach to drive authentic learning and relatedness to the Humanities. 

Students undergoing the JSS Humanities learning experience will:

  • Understand content and concepts in a relatable and an accessible manner
  • Be encouraged to be curious, courageous and confident in approaching societal issues and presenting points of view in a convincing manner.
  • Participate in performance tasks that enable them with opportunities for learning the discipline in an authentic setting within the community.

Special Programmes

Programme

Discipline

Levels

Environmental Studies ALP

  • S1 Model Green Building
  • S2 Sustainable Neighbourhood 3D model design

Geography

S1 & S2

Historical Investigation @ JSS Excavation Site

History

S1

Coastal/Tourism Geographical Investigation

Geography

S3

Humanities Competitions

All Subjects

All