banner01 banner02 banner03 banner04
banner01
banner02
banner03
banner04
Home > JSS Experience > Academic Programmes > Sciences

Sciences


HOD Science Mr Eric Tan eric_tan_ching_kuan@moe.edu.sg
HOD Character & Citizenship Education Mr Stanley Tan tan_chin_kwan@moe.edu.sg
Year HeadMs Lim Yan Mui lim_yan_mui@moe.edu.sg
HOD ICTMr Gabriel Cheong  cheong_kah_kay_gabriel@moe.edu.sg
SH Science Mr Traven Loh loh_wei_chuen@moe.edu.sg
SH ResearchMs Andrea Tok tok_chia_yee@moe.edu.sg
Senior Teacher – Educational Support Mr Lim Kok Meng lim_kok_meng_a@moe.edu.sg
Senior Teacher – Chemistry Ms Julianah Johar julianah_johar@moe.edu.sg
Science Teachers Mr Syed Imran Jamaludin syed_imran_jamaludin@moe.edu.sg
Mr Ng Teck Koon ng_teck_koon@moe.edu.sg
Ms Rachel Lim lim_poh_yen@moe.edu.sg
Ms Clarice Teoh teoh_mooi_hoon@moe.edu.sg
Mr Riduwan Ahmad muhammed_riduwan_ahmad@moe.edu.sg
Mr Eugene Wong wong_jia_wei@moe.edu.sg
Mr Koo Chee Kiong koo_chee_kiong@moe.edu.sg
Ms Simranjit Kaur simranjit_kaur_ranjit_singh@moe.edu.sg
Ms Valerie Wong wong_hui_ping_valerie@moe.edu.sg
Mr Kenny Hong Anliang hong_anliang@moe.edu.sg
Mr Daniel Lee lee_kun_da_daniel@moe.edu.sg
 Mr Yap Chin Hua yap_chin_hua@moe.edu.sg
Ms Julie Chua
julie_chua@moe.edu.sg
Ms Nurul Nadia
nurul_nadia_abdul_kalam@moe.edu.sg



Learning Approach

The JSS Science teacher places inquiry at the heart of learning. It is the central approach for teaching science in our classrooms. The curriculum includes both learning about the methods of scientific inquiry and the knowledge derived from those processes. 


The learning goals that teachers strive to attain as a result of lesson experiences are as follows:

  • cultivating interest in learning science
  • enhancing mastery of subject matter
  • developing scientific reasoning
  • sharpening practical skills
  • understanding the complexity and ambiguity of experimental work
  • cultivating the ability to question critically for effective problem solving
  • developing teamwork abilities

Lower Secondary Science: Learning Through Collaborative Investigation

In preparing our students for a VUCA world, the lower secondary science curriculum at JSS seeks to develop in students a curious mind and to constantly wonder about the physical and natural world. Part of the curriculum involves students actively engaged in the learning of science through collaborative science investigative tasks and learning about how science is relevant to their daily lives.

Some of the features of the JSS Lower Secondary Science course include:

  • the use of demonstrations and inquiry-focused lesson materials to increase student engagement in the classroom;
  • investigative skills focusing on experimental planning;
  • collection and analysis of scientific data related to real world scenarios to make logical and justifiable conclusions.

Key Programmes

Programme Time frame Levels
Investigation and Project Based CurriculumCurriculum DependentLower Secondary
JSS Annual STEM WeekTerm III All Levels
Enrichment ProgrammesEnrichment dependent All Levels
Science CompetitionsCompetition dependent Secondary Two & Three